Percy Pig Vegetarian Sweets
Question
Is it permissible to eat Percy Pig sweets that are vegetarian but in the shape of a pig?
بسم الله الرحمن الرحیم
Answer
Although the ingredients are Halal, Percy Pig sweets should be avoided because they depict and promote an animal which is not lawful to consume.
قال السرخسي في المبسوط (١١/٢٣٢) ضمن مسألة حكم أكل الضب: ولكنه من الخبائث، ولهذا عافه رسول الله صلى الله عليه وسلم، فيدخل تحت قوله تعالى: ويحرم عليهم الخبائث، لكونه مستخبثا طبعا كسائر الهوام، انتهى. وقال ابن العربي في المسالك (٥/٢٩٦): واختلف العلماء في تفسيرها، فقيل: هي المحرمة شرعا، وقيل: هي المستخبثة جبلة وطبعا على العموم عند الناس، لا على الخصوص عند بعض الأشخاص، انتهى۔
Allah knows best
Yusuf Shabbir
15 Dhū al-Ḥijjah 1444 / 3 July 2023
Approved by: Mufti Shabbir Ahmed and Mufti Muhammad Tahir